New leadership at the Perron Institute

The Perron Institute for Neurological and Translational Science, formerly the Western Australian Neuroscience Research Institute (WANRI), welcomes Emeritus Professor Alan Robson AO CitWA as its new Board Chair. Professor Robson commenced his new role at the AGM and Board meeting on 26th May.

Perron Institute CEO Steve Arnott said this new appointment, combined with our recent name change acknowledging the long standing support of the Perron family, and our recent research successes, represents a whole new era and exciting future for the institute.

“The Perron Institute is delighted with the appointment of Professor Alan Robson as our new Board Chair,” he added. “Professor Robson brings a great deal of experience both as a leader and Chair and provides significant research and advisory experience, a strong interface with industry and a commitment to innovation”.

“The Perron Institute is going through a period of significant development and Professor Robson’s appointment will be integral to achieving the outcomes that we have set for ourselves,” said Mr Arnott.

“We have an ambitious vision for the future, one in which we play a greater role in translating neuroscience research into positive outcomes of benefit to the Western Australian community and beyond,” said Mr Arnott.

“Our Board members, both new and existing, are committed to our vision of creating a sustainable, world quality institute and expanding our research by attracting exceptional new scientists.”

Professor Robson is an advocate of a collaborative approach to research for the greater good. His Board experience includes his current role as Chair of the WA Museum Board of Trustees, and previous roles such as Chair of the Group of Eight, Deputy Chair of the Council of the National Library and Universities Australia, and a member of the Western Australian Science Council and the CSIRO Board.

As Vice-chancellor and Deputy Vice-chancellor, Professor Robson led The University of Western Australia for 17 years during a period of performance that was at an all time high. Some of his proudest achievements include the recruitment of Professor Barry Marshall AC who went on to become a Nobel Laureate, and who has collaborated with the institute in the area of multiple sclerosis research, and the influence he has had on graduate students and their subsequent contributions to science and agriculture.

Earlier in his career, Professor Robson was an internationally regarded scientist who contributed to the prosperity and innovation of the state. With a passion for science and a driver of innovation, he supervised numerous PhD and Masters students.

Professor Robson has received various accolades including the Australian Medal of Agricultural Science, the Fiona Stanley Medal, Officer of the Order of Australia in 2013, and in 2015, inducted into the WA Science Hall of Fame, other inductees include Patron Professor Lyn Beazley AO and Professor Barry Marshall.


Media Contact: Tennille Kroemer 0426 044 223


Pictured: Emeritus Professor Alan Robson AO, CitWA, Chair of Perron Institute Board