Bill Carroll nominated for Western Australian of the Year

World-renowned neurologist Professor William (Bill) Carroll AM was recently honoured as a WA nominee for 2021 Australian of the Year.

Professor Carroll is a neurologist at Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital and multiple sclerosis clinician and researcher at the Perron Institute.

He has dedicated much of his distinguished career to raising the profile of MS research both nationally and internationally. His research and advocacy has culminated in numerous scientific research papers and various global roles. His work has helped to steer the International Progressive MS Alliance towards solving the progressive form of this disease, which affects more than one million people worldwide.

Professor Carroll is the President of the World Federation of Neurology and a Board member of MSWA and previously served as President of the Australian and New Zealand Association of Neurologists. He was a founding director of the MS Research Australia Board and its founding chair of their Research Management Council for more than 10 years.

In 2019, Professor Carroll was recognised as a Member of the Order of Australia in the Queen’s Birthday Honours for outstanding service to the community, and in 2012 as Western Australian of the Year in the field of business and professions.

This year, there were 16 nominees in total, and the winner of WA’s Australian of the Year Award was Professor Helen Milroy, Australia’s first indigenous doctor.

Award recipients in each category will join other state and territory winners as finalists in the national Australian of the Year Awards to be announced on January 25.

Congratulations, Professor Carroll, on your prestigious acknowledgement.