Bill Carroll AM receives Queen’s Birthday honour

Clinical Professor William (Bill) Carroll, consultant neurologist and MS researcher at the Perron Institute, was recognised in the Queen’s Birthday Honours 2019 for outstanding service to the community.

Professor Carroll received a Member (AM) of the Order of Australia for significant service to neurological medicine, and to people with multiple sclerosis (MS).

Professor Carroll has dedicated a significant part of his distinguished career to raising the profile of MS research both nationally and internationally. In 2012 he was named Western Australian of the Year in the field of business and professions and in 2017 he was elected to the top global position of President of the World Federation of Neurology.

He holds various positions including serving as a Director of the MSWA Board. Professor Carroll conducts regular MS clinics at the Perron Institute, Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital and in private practice. He also undertakes research as a member of the Demyelinating Diseases Research group at the Perron Institute.

It is an honour to work with such a distinguished community leader.

Among other notable Western Australians recognised in the Queen’s Birthday Honours 2019 were Professor David Mackey, who recently stepped down as Managing Director of the Lions Eye Institute and Dr Nicola Forrest, co-founder of the Forrest Research Foundation.

Congratulations Professor Carroll and all of this year’s recipients!

Mr Jebsen acknowledged the institute’s leading capabilities and emphasised the strength of collaboration across oceans.

“Western Australia’s Perron Institute has already demonstrated its solid international standing in translational research breakthroughs,” Mr Jebsen said.

The drug for Duchenne muscular dystrophy that we heard about from Professors Steve Wilton and Sue Fletcher offers enormous promise for the further development of therapies to treat a range of other neurological and neuromuscular diseases,” Mr Jebsen said.

I am a firm believer in the power of working together to achieve real success – the success that contributes to the greater good of our world,” Mr Jebsen said.

Professors Wilton and Fletcher  acknowledged the support from both Murdoch University and The University of Western Australia, their team including many PhD students as well as the many researchers and clinicians across the institute.

Professor Wilton also acknowledged the support of Mr Torsten Ketelsen, Perron Institute Board member and Chairman of the Fundraising Committee, and responsible for connecting the Perron Institute with Mr Jebsen.

Mr Jebsen was presented with a framed honorary award by Emeritus Professor Alan Robson AO CitWA, Chair of the Perron Institute, who went on to thank all of our Perron Institute supporters and team at the institute.

Pictured: Prof Bill Carroll, AM