A packed program showcasing some of the latest advances in neuroscience was presented at the Symposium of Western Australian Neuroscience (SWAN).  

The Perron Institute was one of the proud Platinum sponsors of the all-day event held at Curtin University’s function space in the Perth CBD.  

In total, there were 113 registrants, including some who travelled from Queensland and Victoria, 42 abstract submissions and eight posters accepted.  

Professor Paul Parizel from the National Imaging Facility (NIF) presented the Plenary Lecture titled ‘Because seeing changes everything – How the NIF opens new neuroimaging horizons for neuroscience research’. 

Dr Jamie Beros (Brain Plasticity Research group at UWA and Perron Institute) opened the ‘Neuroplasticity and Neuromodulation’ session. Perron Institute’s Taya Hamilton, and Dr Chidozie Anyaegbu and Honours student Andre Avila from the Curtin University and Perron Institute Neurotrauma Research group, delivered stimulating talks in the ‘Injury and Rehabilitation’ session. 

The ‘Neurodegeneration’ session included talks by Dr Sarah Rea and PhD candidate Yuval Gurfinkel from the Functional Genomics group at Murdoch University and Perron Institute, Dr Brittney Lins (Curtin University and Perron Institute Neurotrauma Research group) and PhD candidate Leanne Jiang (University of Queensland and Perron Institute). 

The afternoon sessions included both Cognitive and Auditory Neuroscience. 

A panel highlighting ‘40 years of Western Australian neuroscience’ was chaired by PhD student Rebecca Ong (Brain Plasticity Research group at UWA and Perron Institute) and featured invited special guests Professor Charles Watson, Emeritus Professor Alan Harvey and Emerita Professor Sarah Dunlop. 

Several researchers and students affiliated with the Perron Institute were awarded prizes. 

For the Oral Presentation, the Early Career Researcher category winner was Dr Anyaegbu, and the runner-up was Dr Lins. The PhD category winner was Leanne Jiang (UQ/Perron Institute) and André Avila was runner-up in the Honours/undergraduate category. 

Dr Beros won the Abcam immunolabelling prize (worth up to $750), and Leanne Jiang also won the Promega door prize ($100). 

The wrap-up sundowner enabled the day’s highlights to be discussed over light refreshments. 

The SWAN organising committee includes Co-Chairs Dr Sarah Hellewell and Dr Chidozie Anyaegbu (Curtin University and Perron Institute) and Dr Li Shan Chiu (University of Notre Dame and Ear Science Institute), and Treasurer Associate Professor Jennifer Rodger (Perron Institute and UWA). 

Congratulations and well done to all involved. 

For more information, visit: symposiumwaneuro.com