SWAN – Symposium WA Neuroscience 2019

The Symposium of WA Neuroscience 2019 held at the Harry Perkins Institute recently was a great success.

Professor Lindy Fitzgerald, head of Neurotrauma Research at the Perron Institute is Chair of the SWAN organising committee. There were over 130 attendees on the day. Local and interstate speakers provided interesting presentations during four sessions encompassing a wide range of neuroscience research, from detailed descriptions of pathways in neurodegeneration, to the needs of patients with dementia.

Students and early career researchers gave three-minute scientific presentations with two minutes allocated for questions. The standard was high and the format ensured a lively and dynamic feel to the event.

The Perron Institute was a sponsor. Cash prizes were awarded to students and early career researchers in four categories: Honours and research assistants, early stage PhD, late-stage PhD and early career researchers.

Several members of the institute received poster and presentation prizes.

Perron Institute PhD students Julia Pytte (Motor Neurone Disease Research) and Craig McIntosh (Molecular Therapy Research at Murdoch University) received oral presentation prizes of $250 each. Other recipients were Lakshana Parameswari Thanigaiarasu and An Nguyen.

Perron Institute student Lauren Hennessy (Brain Plasticity Research) received an oral presentation runner up prize of $100 each. Other recipients were Kate Fisher, Brittany Rurak and Christopher Latella.

Perron Institute PhD students Anastazja Gorecki and Megan Bakeberg (Neurodegenerative Diseases Research) and researcher Abigail Pfaff (Genetic Epidemiology Research) received poster prizes of $100 each. The other recipient was Phuonghi Ha.

Congratulations to the prize winners and thank you to all involved!

Pictured L-R Megan Bakeberg, Abigail Pfaff and Julia Pytte.